CMAS Diving Course with Mako Mako, Skippers Course SAMSA_Legislation, Diving_Laws

Restricted Sports Diving Certificate


To supply a framework for the training of physically disabled and handicapped divers enabling them to obtain the 1 Star Restricted Sport Diver qualification.


To attend the 1 Star Restricted Sport Diver Course.

  • Must be at least 14 years old.
  • Must submit a medical certificate clearing the holder as fit to participate in the sport of underwater diving before participating in any practical training. A medical practitioner using the CMAS-ISA Sport Diving Medical Examination Form must have carried out the medical examination. Where and individual is attending a CMAS-ISA course for the first time, the certificate must not be older than 3 months and not older than 12 months when the One Star Restricted Sport Diver certificate or any other subsequent certificate is finally issued.
  • To write the 1 Star Restricted Sport Diver examination.
  • Must attend a 1 Star Restricted Sport Diver course run by at least an in-date Two Star instructor (Course Convener).
  • To apply for the 1 Star Restricted Sport Diver certificate.
  • Must pass the theory examination as set by a panel of Instructors, or as set by CMAS-ISA. A pass mark of 65% is compulsory.
  • Must pass the prescribed practical tests.
  • Must log at least 5 scuba dives in open water and have these verified by at least an in-date Two Star Instructor. The candidate must buddy with at least 2 Two Star Advanced Divers. The dives are to be of at least 15 minutes duration and to a depth not exceeding 18m.
  • The certificate must be endorsed according to the candidate‚Äôs ability.


Parts 4, 5 & 6 must be completed within 1 year of writing the theory examination. Failing which parts 4 and 5 must be re-done. The above-mentioned prerequisites are the minimum required for the CMAS-ISA One Star Restricted Sport Diver Certificate.