CMAS Diving Course with Mako Mako, Skippers Course SAMSA_Legislation, Diving_Laws

Wreck Diving Certificate


To supply a framework for the training of 2 Star Advanced Sport Divers to enable them to obtain the Wreck Diver I qualification.


  • The goals of the course are
  • To develop practical knowledge of what to expect while diving on, or around, an underwater wreck.
  • To make the student aware of the historical importance of underwater wrecks, and the legal and social implications of diving on them.
  • To enable the student to organise and safely conduct wreck dives, including limited entering dives.


  • To attend the Wreck Diver Course
  • Must be at least 16 years old.
  • Must be at least a CMAS-ISA 2 Star Sport Diver and a CMAS-ISA Rescue Diver.
  • Prior to participating in any practical training, the student must submit a medical certificate clearing the holder fit to participate in the sport of underwater diving. A medical practitioner using the CMAS-ISA Sport Diver medical examination form, must have carried out the medical examination not more than 12 months previously.
  • To write the Wreck Diver theory examination
  • The candidate must hold a CMAS-ISA 2 Star Advanced Sport Diver certificate and CMAS-ISA Rescue Diver certificate
  • To apply for the Wreck Diver Certificate
  • Must pass the theory examination as set by an in-date 2 Star Instructor and approved by CMAS-ISA.
  • A pass mark of 65% is compulsory per subject.
  • Must pass the prescribed practical tests.
  • The candidate must have logged at least 20 scuba dives. The following types of dives must be included:
    - 5 Night dives
    - 5 Boat dives
    - 5 Seawater dives
    - 5 x 30m dives


Parts 5, 6 & 7 must be completed within 1 year of writing the theory exam. Failing this, the whole course has to be re-done. The above-mentioned prerequisites are the minimum required for the CMAS-ISA Wreck Diver I Certificate.