CMAS Diving Course with Mako Mako, Skippers Course SAMSA_Legislation, Diving_Laws

Cave Diving Zone 2 Certificate


To instruct and qualify an Advanced Nitrox Diver in the techniques required for diving in a safe and controlled manner, in overhead environments that do not have line of sight to the surface, but where divers are in constant communication.


Cave diver (Zone II) is the second in a series of certifications that is designed to develop Cavern and Cave diving proficiency. Candidates are required to possess prior overhead environment experience, and are expected to be comfortable in low visibility diving situations. This certificate is intended to provide information necessary for a candidate diver to safely participate in cave diving or overhead environments without line of site to the surface. Due to specialised equipment and safety requirements, caves should not be entered without the appropriate training. This certificate covers the techniques required for narrow, water-filled passages associated with cave diving where full communication is possible between divers at all times. This certificate does not provide the candidate diver with the capability of diving beyond his or her existing depth qualification.


  • To attend the Cave Diver (Zone II) course:
  • Must be at least 18 years old.
  • Must submit the Technical Diving Medical certificate clearing the holder as fit to participate in underwater diving. The medical examination must have been carries out by a medical practitioner using the CMAS-ISA Technical Medical Examination Form. The medical examination must have been carried out not more than 12 months previously.
  • Should not be a smoker.
  • Should not be using any prescription or otherwise drugs before or during the course, without the written consent of a qualified diving doctor.
  • Should be capable of swimming 25 metres underwater on a single breathhold.
  • Should be capable of swimming 200 metres within a reasonable time limit, as set by the instructor, but not exceeding 10 minutes.
  • Must hold a CMAS-ISA Advanced Nitrox Diver certificate.
  • In addition to the dives required for the Advanced Nitrox Diver certificate, the candidate must have carried out and logged at least 100 dives in open water with a minimum depth of 10 metres and a duration of at least 30 minutes (except where the special nature of the dive precludes this on safety grounds) including:
    - 10 dives roped to a surface tender, or using a dive-operated line-reel.
    - To write the Cave Diver (Zone II) examination:Must attend a Cave Diver (Zone II) seminar overseen by a CMAS-ISA specially approved in-date Technical Instructor (Course Convenor).
  • To apply for the Cavern Diver (Zone II) certificate
    - Must achieve a pass mark of at least 65% in the theory examination on the contents of the seminar as set by the Course Convenor and approved by the CMAS-ISA Technical Diver Training Taskgroup.
    - Must pass all the practical tests.
    - The candidate must have logged at least 3 cave dives as specified by the Course Convenor, during the course in the presence of the course instructor.
    - Must read the Code of Practice for Cave Diving, as issued by CMAS-ISA, and return a signed copy with the application for the certificate.

CAVE DIVER (ZONE II) seminarThe Cave Diver (Zone II)

  • seminar covers at least the following aspects
  • Selection of diving gear to suit the overhead mission requirement
  • Rope work, reel and guideline techniques
  • Decompression, including action to be taken in the event of omitted or shortened decompression
  • Diving accident management, with emphasis on drowning, air embolism and decompression sickness
  • Diver communications
  • Low visibility diving, and anti-silting techniques
  • Revision of diver rescue techniques
  • Technological and physiological emergencies
  • Stress and panic management


Parts 10, 11, 12, & 13 must be completed within one year of writing the theory examination. Failing which, parts 10, 11 & 12 must be re-done. The above-mentioned prerequisites are the minimum required for the CMAS-ISA Cave Diver (Zone II) certificate.